Home » Uncategorized » Dumuria Upazila

Dumuria Upazila

Dumuria (Bengali: ডুমুরিয়া) is an upazila of Khulna District in the Division of Khulna, Bangladesh.

It is bounded by fultala upazila on the north, batiaghata and paikgachha upazilas on the south, batiaghata upazila and sonadanga thana on the east, tala upazila of satkhira district on the west and monirampur and abhaynagar of keshabpur in jessore district.

Summary of Dumuria Upazila: Khulna is a divisional city in the southwestern part of Bangladesh. Dumuria is the largest upazila out of 09 upazilas of this district. Historian Satish Chandra Mitra’s book “History of Jessore Khulna” shows that Dumuria was ruled by Bharat Raja in the tenth century. This is evident from the view of Bharat Deul of Bharat Vaina in Keshabpur upazila of Jessore. The propagation of Islam and Muslim rule was introduced in the Dumuria area in the mid-fifteenth century. In 1984, an inscription was found in an old dilapidated mound next to a very old pond in the village of Arshanagar in Maguraghona Union. The name of Hazrat Shah Afzal is found in that inscription. On the other hand, Haji Mohammad Mohsin’s zamindari spread to West Bengal and other parts of Bangladesh like Dumuria, Maguraghona, Atalia, Shobhana, Kharnia, etc. Another Muslim preacher named Shahjamal was found in the village of Andulia in Dumuria.

Dumuria is located at 22.8083°N 89.4250°E. It has 46,251 households and a total area of 454.23 square kilometres (175.38 sq mi). There are two major rivers, Shipsha and Shangrail.

According to the 1991 Bangladesh census, Dumuria had a population of 256,503. Males constituted 51.12% of the population, and females 48.88%. The population aged 18 or over was around 138,764. Dumuria had an average literacy rate of 36.1% (7+ years), compared to the national average of 32.4% .

Dumuria Upazila is divided into 14 union parishads: Atlia, Dhamalia, Dumuria, Ghutudia, Khornia, Magurkhali, Maguraghona, Raghunathpur, Rongpur, Rudaghora, Sahos, Shorafpur, Shovna, and Vandarpara. The union parishads are subdivided into 189 mauzas and 240 villages.

Narayan Chandra Chanda, MP (Khulna-5), Honourable Minister of Ministry of Fisheries And Livestock of Bangladesh